Weekend Finds

I think mother nature read my post last week about weather affecting moods, because it was an amazing weekend in D.C. Here are a few favorite things I found while soaking up the sun around the District.

1. Bubble lamps from Georgetown Emporium

It was harder than I thought to say goodbye to the now-dilapidated plastic standing lamp that I inherited from a girl in my high school dorm when she graduated, but these beauties add a little symmetry to my mismatched nightstands and make my “bedroom” feel oh-so-adult!

Image

Image

I love the simplicity of the clear, round bases but I may do something to spruce up the shades – stay tuned!

About Georgetown Emporium: If you haven’t been to this eclectic little shop, I highly recommend it! It’smy favorite hidden gem, conveniently located on the walk to Dupont Circle from Georgetown (26th & P). The tiny converted townhouse is filled to the brim (like really filled to the brim – I’m talking displays spilling to the sidewalk and velvet chairs hanging from the ceiling) with fun estate jewelry, home decor pieces, and some choice articles of clothing – i.e. a Burberry skirt and Chanel shoes when I was there today. If I had more disposable income at my fingertips I definitely would have picked up an ornate antique mirror or two.

2. Wizard of Oz Mural

Another hidden gem on P Street – I can’t believe I have never noticed this little mural depicting the Tin Man, Cowardly Lion, and the Scarecrow taking a break in the middle of the yellow brick road. It’s above Bagel’s Etc off of Dupont Circle- if it had an address it would technically be on Twinnings CT, between 21st and 22nd St.

Twinnings CT mural

A close up, which as you can see, is brought to you by DC Pages:

Wizard of Oz mural

3. My Balcony

OK, this isn’t really a “find” of the weekend, but it was so nice to rediscover what spring feels like while painting my toes and listening to country music outside. Looking forward to many more hours out there, when there are actually leaves on the trees.

balcony

Goodnight and good luck getting through the five day week (ugh!)

P.S. This is me being a bag lady after buying my new lamps. #Shadowselfie (?)

shadow 2shadow

Leave a comment